Book tour review + Giveaway: Cast in firelight (Dana Swift) | the book I pre-ordered right after finishing it

Today it’s my spot in the booktour of Cast in firelight — the first instalment in a YA fantasy duology — by Dana Swift! I’m so excited to tell you all you need to know about this unique debut because it’s pretty epic! It releases tomorrow(!!) so you don’t want to miss out! Now, let’s take a look at what I thought, shall we?

What is Cast in firelight about?

AUTHOR: DANA SWIFT
SERIES: WICKERY #1
PUBLISHER: DELACORTE PRESS
RELEASE DATE: JANUARY 19, 2021
GENRE: YOUNG ADULT, FANTASY

The first book in an epic, heart-pounding fantasy duology about two royal heirs betrothed to be married, but whose loyalties are torn, and a ruthless enemy who threatens their world, perfect for fans of Sabaa Tahir, Hafsah Faizal, and Renée Ahdieh.

Adraa is the royal heir of Belwar, a talented witch on the cusp of taking her royal ceremony test, and a girl who just wants to prove her worth to her people.

Jatin is the royal heir to Naupure, a competitive wizard who’s mastered all nine colors of magic, and a boy anxious to return home for the first time since he was a child.

Together, their arranged marriage will unite two of Wickery’s most powerful kingdoms. But after years of rivalry from afar, Adraa and Jatin only agree on one thing: their reunion will be anything but sweet.

Only, destiny has other plans and with the criminal underbelly of Belwar suddenly making a move for control, their paths cross…and neither realizes who the other is, adopting separate secret identities instead.

Between dodging deathly spells and keeping their true selves hidden, the pair must learn to put their trust in the other if either is to uncover the real threat. Now Wickery’s fate is in the hands of rivals..? Fiancées..? Partners..? Whatever they are, it’s complicated and bound for greatness or destruction.

Interested? You can add the book on Goodreads or purchase it at Amazon, B&N, Bookdepository, Indigo and Indiebound!

What did I think of Cast in firelight? + Aesthetic

“I move in all directions, my left hand casting spells, my right protesting against the pain, but still holding a shield. Colors fly around me like the Festival of Color. Only instead of splattering the sky, the shooting lights spin vertically and with terrifying death words behind them.”

My heart literally can’t stop beating. This book literally left me as if I’d just (barely) survived a war: breathless, in pain but still with some kind of adrenaline rushing through me. I already need the sequel.

Dana Swift has such a nice writing style. It made me laugh at some points (seriously, this book’s banter is just…yes) but in moments of action it made my heart beat faster. The book also generally just has a really good vibe.

Now, how do I start to talk about characters and plot? See, most books are either have me screaming more about characters than plot or vice versa. But this one, however…both just blew my mind. I fell head over heels in love with both Adraa and Jatin. Oh, and the two of them together.

The funny thing is that a month ago I said in a post that I’d never read a book that made an arranged marriage trope work for me and then this book is like…hi!!! It didn’t feel forced at all and because of the world and the plot it actually made sense. I’m so happy to have finally found one I didn’t think was toxic or anything near problematic!

The plot is truly mind-blowing though. My heart was raising so I credibly fast that at one point I literally got…scared for my own health. But either way, I also cried! More specifically, I’m an absolute mess right now!

And yes, the characters. Their relationship evolves pretty fast and I’m gonna say something I never thought I’d say: I didn’t mind! I’m all here for slow-burn but this just felt…natural.

I’m also gonna make a comparison I will really, really regret later on but for my Miraculous: tales of Ladybug and Cat noir lovers…I definitely recommend this.

To really describe my love for this book: I finished it a few minutes ago and I’m on my way to pre-order it. I’m so, so, so in love with this book and ugh, give me the sequel already! As you can tell I’m an absolute mess so this deserves nothing less than five stars!

Thank you to Delacorte Press and TBR and beyond tours for providing me with an e-arc of this book in exchange for an honest review.

*this is not an own voices book but i hope this won’t make anyone turn down this book. as the author herself said: “You may wonder why I tried to craft a fantasy in which none of the main characters look like me. And for me the answer is simple: because these characters will look like my children.”

Giveaway

There’s a tour-wide giveaway for Cast in firelight! If you’re interested, be sure to check it out by clicking here!

Who is the author behind Cast in firelight?

Dana Swift started making up fantasy worlds when she was eleven years old and hasn’t stopped since. She graduated from the University of Texas at Austin, where she earned degrees in English and Advertising. While in college, Dana competed as a saber fencer and learned a thing or two about fighting, parrying and how it feels to fall in love with your sparring partner. She currently lives with said husband in Miami, Florida.

Website | Twitter | Goodreads | Instagram | Facebook

About this tour

If you’re interested in other fun content surrounding Cast in firelight, be sure to click here for the tour schedule!

This tour was hosted by TBR and beyond tours! Thank you for letting me participate!


8 thoughts on “Book tour review + Giveaway: Cast in firelight (Dana Swift) | the book I pre-ordered right after finishing it

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s